Tuesday, July 16, 2024
HomeLatest NewsSix Indians in ICC T20 World Cup 'Team of the Tournament'; Virat...

Six Indians in ICC T20 World Cup ‘Team of the Tournament’; Virat Kohli misses out | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced its ‘Team of the Tournament‘ for the recently concluded T20 World Cup. Despite playing a key role in India’s victory over South Africa in the final, star batter Virat Kohli did not find a place in this select squad.
India clinched their second T20 World Cup title, defeating South Africa by seven runs in a thrilling climax.
Kohli, who was promoted to opener for the tournament, had a relatively quiet World Cup until the grand finale, where he produced a match-winning knock of 76 runs off 59 balls and was named the player of the match. Despite his heroics, Kohli was omitted from the ICC XI.The ICC’s lineup featured six Indian players, reflecting their strong overall performance. Indian skipper Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, and Arshdeep Singh were all included. Rohit led from the front, amassing 257 runs at an impressive strike rate of 156.7, making him the second-highest run-scorer behind Afghanistan’s Rahmanullah Gurbaz.
One of the standout performers, Jasprit Bumrah, was named Player of the Tournament. Bumrah took 15 wickets and more importantly, his ability to restrict the scoring rate made him India’s trump card. His economy rate of 4.17 was the best recorded by a bowler in a single edition of the men’s T20 World Cup.

Following a historic semi-final finish, PTI has reported that Afghanistan had three players making it to the ICC team. Left-arm quick Fazalhaq Farooqi topped the wicket-taking charts alongside India’s Arshdeep Singh with 17 wickets each. Wicketkeeper-batter Rahmanullah Gurbaz, who led the run charts with 281 runs, and captain Rashid Khan were the other inclusions from Afghanistan.
Skipper Rashid Khan led Afghanistan brilliantly, claiming 14 wickets at an economy of 6.17, showcasing his prowess as both a leader and a player.

Australian all-rounder Marcus Stoinis and West Indies’ Nicholas Pooran rounded out the XI, bringing additional balance to the team.
South Africa, despite being the runners-up, did not have a player in the XI. However, pacer Anrich Nortje was named the 12th man.
Overall, the ICC’s ‘Team of the Tournament’ reflects a mix of individual brilliance and consistent performance across the event, highlighting the standout players who made a significant impact.
ICC Team of The Tournament
Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh (all Indians); Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan, Fazalhaq Farooqi (Afghanistan); Marcus Stoinis (Australia) and Nicholas Pooran (West Indies); 12th man: Anrich Nortje.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments