Monday, June 17, 2024
HomeLatest News'Breath-taking hypocrisy': Congress attacks PM Modi for paying tribute to Mahatma Gandhi...

‘Breath-taking hypocrisy’: Congress attacks PM Modi for paying tribute to Mahatma Gandhi ahead of swearing-in ceremony | India News

NEW DELHI: Senior Congress leader Jairam Ramesh on Sunday launched a scathing attack on Prime Minister Narendra Modi for paying tribute to Mahatma Gandhi before swearing-in ceremony and called it ‘breath-taking hypocrisy’.
Taking to X, Jairam ramesh said, “Aap track record dekhiye–His ideological brotherhood created such a toxic environment of hostility and hatred that it resulted in the cold-blooded murder of the Mahatma on January 30th, 1948.”
“He never pulls up his colleagues who make Nathuram Godse into some sort of hero, he displaces Mahatma Gandhi’s statue in Parliament House–not once but twice,” he said.
The Congress leader also accused PM Modi of falsely claiming that Mahatma Gandhi was not known to the world before the Attenborough film of 1982 on him.
“He falsely claims that before the Attenborough film of 1982 on him, Mahatma Gandhi was not known to the world. He demolishes and destroys Gandhian institutions in Varanasi, Ahmedabad, and elsewhere. Breath-taking hypocrisy!,” he said.

PM Modi had visited Rajghat and paid tribute to Mahatma Gandhi, former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee, and also offered homage at the war memorial before the swearing-in ceremony ahead of his third-term.
Meanwhile, leaders from India’s neighbourhood and the Indian Ocean Region are among the dignitaries and special invitees who will be attending the swearing-in ceremony.
Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe, President of Maldives Mohamed Muizzu, Vice-President of Seychelles Ahmed Afif, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Prime Minister of Mauritius Pravind Kumar Jugnauth, Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’ and Prime Minister of Bhutan Tshering Tobgay have arrived India for the ceremony.
The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance holds a comfortable position with 292 MPs in the 543-member Lok Sabha, with the BJP being the largest party, holding 240 seats. Congress contested the election as part of the INDIA bloc and the parties together were able to prevent BJP from getting a majority on its own in Lok Sabha.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments